She Wolf – Maurice Druon

The Story

Quite frankly, I don’t know what this book is about. When I saw this in a bookshop in Edinburgh, I thought I was going to read a book about Isabella of France, much despised Queen of England and consort of King Edward II. But that just didn’t happen.

Isabelle of France, Queen consort of Edward II was called the She-Wolf for taking her life into her own hands

Isabelle of France, Queen consort of Edward II was called the She-Wolf for taking her life into her own hands

Instead, I read about the mad French king and his court, Italian bankers, their mistresses, their bastards and so on. But not about Isabella and her life.

There are too many characters involved and that is the biggest fault of this book. I can’t keep them apart. Also, I feel that those characters aren’t really important for the story of Isabella.

I didn’t finish this book. I gave it five tries but after another boring chapter I gave up. The pile of books that are waiting to be read is to big to keep struggling with this one. Maybe I’ll give it another try when I have nothing else to read, but for now I put it back on the shelve.

Geef een reactie

