How I got addicted to historical fiction…

I had my first encounter with historical fiction some five years ago. I was browsing my local bookstore (or my second home as I like to call it), looking for a good thriller, the genre I was into back then. But there was nothing that interested me.

So I started looking at the romantic novels, which I normally never do. I really dislike romantic stories about hidden family dramas, impossible loves or quests to find yourself.
I was about to walk out, without a book (a really seldom event, the owner was giving me this look as if I was putting him out of business) when the cover of ‘The White Queen’ by Philippa Gregory caught my eye. Since I needed a book to read on my vacation, I decided to buy it. And that was it. I was hooked!

We’re five years later now, and my bookshelves are filled with historical novels (although my list of ‘Books to read’ doesn’t seem to stop growing at all…Weird). I am really addicted to this genre. You learn about people and important events, without it being another boring history lesson. Of course, there will always be this discussion about how much is fiction and how much is actually true, but a good historical novel makes you do research on your own. It makes you want to dig deeper and find out on yourself how much is true.

So pick up that novel, and read!

 

J.

Geef een reactie

