Five books that had a big influence on my life

images (3)

Off course it is a horrible task to choose your favorite books or the books that changed your life, but I am going to do it!

So here they are:

  1. De Katten Van Kruisem – Marc De Bel.

I read this book when I was about 8 or 9 years old and I remember I enjoyed every letter I read. This book made me fall in love with reading. I think I have read this book at least 20 times. I even wanted to name my children after the characters, Joppe and Lana.

  1. Het uur nul – Dirck Bracke

This is another book from my youth. The story is quite disturbing: a teenager who has unsafe sex contracts HIV. It covers how he has to come to terms that he won’t life long and how it affects his family and friends. It is a gripping story and as a young adult, it surely made me think about life and death.

  1. De Razende Stilte – Sherryl Jordan

Marnie, a young widow lives in a village where the people think she is a witch. She befriends Raaf, a boy her age who is deaf. Together, they develop a language by using their hands.
By reading this book, I got interested in sign language. I hope I’ll learn the language one day!

  1. The Harry Potter series – J.K Rowling

I think this one doesn’t need an explanation. 😉

  1. The White Queen – Philippa Gregory

This novel made passionate about historical fiction, as I have told in my previous blogpost: How I fell in love with Historical Fiction. I was always fascinated by history, but I didn’t do anything with it. After reading the White Queen, I was besotted with The Plantagenet and The Tudors and I started to do some research on my own. Five years later, I am studying history and one day hope to be a history teacher!

Geef een reactie

